Thursday, February 17, 2011

IBC Occupancy Classifications for Fire Alarm

Occupancy Classifications Based on the International Building Code

Occupancy classifications are broken down in the IBC or International Building Code.  These different groups are made up for different uses and structures.  As you guessed, each occupancy classification has its own fire alarm system requirements. These fire alarm requirements are found in the IFC or International Fire Code section 907.  Below is a simple  breakdown of what each occupancy classification is used for.  We have also included links that will take you directly to the fire alarm requirements for each group.

Occupancy Groups

Assembly Group A:  Uses intended fro the gathering together of persons for the purposes such as civic, social or religious functions, recreation, food or drink consumption or awaiting transportation.  A room of less than 50 persons used for assembly but is accessory to a different occupancy shall be considered that different occupancy.  Assembly areas less than 750 s.f. which is accessory to a different occupancy is not considered assembly.  Assembly rooms which are accessory to Group E are not considered as Group A.  Religious education rooms and auditoriums with occupant loads less than 100 persons which are accessory to churches are considered A-3.  Group A is divided into five sub groups as follows:

A-1: Usually with fixed seating, intended for production and viewing of the performing arts or motion pictures.
A-2: Uses intended for food and drink consumption.
A-3: Uses intended for worship, recreation or amusement and other assembly uses not otherwise classified.
A-4: Uses intended for viewing of indoor sporting events and activities with spectator seating.
A-5: Uses intended for participation in or viewing outdoor activities.

Click here to find out what fire alarm equipment is required for Group A Occupancy.

Business Group B:  Assembly occupancies less than 50 persons and/or uses intended for office, professional or service type transactions, including storage of records and accounts.

Click here to find out what fire alarm equipment is required for Group B Occupancy.

Educational Group E:  Uses intended by 6 or more persons at any time for educational purposes through the 12th grade.  Daycare uses for educational, supervision or personal care services for more than 5 children older than 2 1/2 years of age.

Click here to find out what fire alarm equipment is required for Group E Occupancy.

Factory Industrial Group F:  Uses intended for assembling, disassembling, fabricating, finishing, manufacturing, packaging, repair or processing operations that are not classified as Group H Hazardous or Group S Storage.  Group is divided into two sub groups.

Group F-1: Moderate Hazard
Group F-2: Low Hazard

Click here to find out what fire alarm equipment is required for Group F Occupancy.

High-Hazard Group H:  Uses intended for manufacturing, processing, generation or storage of materials that constitute a physical or health hazard in quantities in excess of those allowed by code.  Group H is divided into 5 sub groups.

Group H-1: Detonation Hazard
Group H-2: Accelerated Burning
Group H-3: Materials that readily support combustion or pose a physical hazard.
Group H-4: Materials are health hazard
Group H-5: Semiconductor fabrication facilities and comparable R&D areas which HPM's are used.

Click here to find out what fire alarm equipment is required for Group H Occupancy.

Institutional Group I:  Uses intended in which people are cared for or live in a supervised environment, having physical limitations because of health or age are harbored for medical treatment or other care or treatment or in which the liberty of the occupants is restricted.  Group I is divided into four sub groups.

Group I-1:  Houses more than 16 persons, on a 24 hour basis, who because of age, mental disability or other reasons, live in a supervised residential environment that provides personal care services.  The occupants are capable of responding to an emergency situation without physical assistance from staff.
Group I-2:  Used for medical, surgical, psychiatric, nursing or custodial care on a 24 hour basis of more than 5 persons who are not capable of self-preservation.  Less than five people shall be considered a Group R-3.
Group I-3:  Is inhabited by more than five persons who are under restraint or security and is occupied by persons who are generally incapable of self-preservation due to security measures not under the occupant's control.

Click here to find out what fire alarm equipment is required for Group I Occupancy.

No comments:

Post a Comment